3. The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owner in the letter contends that due to the increased skateboarders in the Central Plaza, the business in the plaza is experiencing a decrease. Thus, the writer acclaims that the banning of the skateboarders should be implemented in order to recover the business in the Plaza. He assumes that the decrease in the stores is solely due to the skateboarders and the popularity of skateboarding led to the actual increase of the skateboarders. In addition, he makes a hasty generalization that skateboarding causes trash and the breakdown of the objects in the Plaza. There should be further information to determine the validity of the statement that the writer gives.

First, the author claims that the number of skateboarders in the plaza is a reason that the store owners in the plaza is suffering from the loss. However, there should be further information to be validated. There could be other reasons besides the number of skateboarders. The reason that the stores are in loss could be due to the less number of skateboard related sellers compared to the shopping mall near the Central Plaza that they are taking away the customers. Or, skateboarders could be the one that are increasing the stores' sales but it could be the dramatic decrease in other kinds of customers that lessens the sales in the plaza. Therefore, the number of skateboard related sellers should be checked with what kinds of customers are coming into the stores should be checked.

Secondly, the letter writer assumes that the popularity of skateboarding is increasing and this ambivalent in the community leads to the increase in the skateboarders. However, there must be evidence to support this claim. Although the popularity of skateboarding did increase, we cannot confirm that the actual number of skateboarders are increasing. The people who are interested could be the teenagers. However, the teenagers could not actually skateboard due to their studying in school or the financial constraint. Therefore, the actual increased number of the skateboarders compared to the past should be confirmed in order to confirm writer's claim.

Lastly, the store owner in the letter states that the increase of the litter and vandalism is due to the skateboarders. However, there is no evidence of stating this. The law inside the state where the Central Plaza is located could have changed during the past 2 years that people should pay fine if the citizens trash more than the recommended amount for each household. In order not to pay more, the people in the state could have brought their litter to the Central Plaza where they can evade paying fine. Also, we should check whether who destroyed the parts of the plaza.

In conclusion, to confirm that the statement that the increase of the skateboarders is a main reason for the store's suffering should be supported with further information.