According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The presented passage discusses Groveton College’s success in reducing student cheating by institutionalizing an honor code that makes its students promise their academic integrity to not only cheat themselves but also report in case they witness other students cheating. The author, while presenting evidence of the reduction in the number of cases that involved cheating, recommends that all colleges and universities should follow suite and implement a similar honor code system to cope with academic cheating. The author should be commended for his or her efforts to tackle this vexing issue, however, the argument cannot be entirely supported as it rests upon a few assumptions. If he or she reviewed and adjusted the argument in consideration of the following points, this honor code system as a means to reduce cheating would more likely yield the desired outcomes.

First, the author assumes that the presented reduction in the number of reported cases of cheating means that students are becoming less prone to cheating. At first glance, the graduate decrease may make the argument seem plausible, but it is possible that this decrease is due to a decreased student body. To be precise, even with the decrease from thirty to twenty-one cases, the overall percentage of cheating cases could increase if the student body decreased during the same period. Without this information to demonstrate a proportional decrease in cheating, the author’s argument remains unconvincing. To provide more validity, then, the author should offer numerical data to clarify this point.

Another shortcoming of the argument is the cited survey through which students responded that the presence of an honor code system deterred them from cheating. While the inclusion of this data can be indeed useful to assess the impact of the system, the author assumes that this is reliable without providing information on its validity. For instance, a critical reader can readily argue that the sample size surveyed may not be statistically representative of the student body. It is possible that only 1% of the entire student body answered. Alternatively, another possible caveat is that only a self-selected group of students who were not already prone to cheating in the first place answered, not a type of students who can best vouch for the effectiveness. In this manner, in order to demonstrate the validity of the cited survey, the author should provide more information and elaborate on it.

Finally, based on the aforementioned points whose validity is already questionable, the author proceeds to conclusively recommend that all higher education institutions adopt the same system. This recommendation is far-fetched to say the least as the author overgeneralizes the case of Groveton to other institutions without any justification. One could argue that other institutions do not have commonalities with Groveton when it comes to academic cheating. For instance, some universities have already implemented a similar system, only to find it ineffective as students consistently lied and failed to report their peers’ cheating practices. Perhaps they have a larger, systemic student culture in which they help each other engage in cheating. Had the author demonstrated the ways in which Graviton shares similarities with other universities, the recommendation would have been more convincing.

In conclusion, while the presented argument is not entirely valid, the author should offer the aforementioned information to make it more convincing. Without doing so, all the efforts to put into the implementation of the honor code system could turn out to be futile ones. Additionally, in recommending a similar practice to other universities, the author should carefully examine whether they share the same underlying issue.