"According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The argument stated by the author gives a solution to the problem of rising cheating in colleges and universities. The solution is honor code, which has successfully reduced cheating rate, when adopted by Groveton College. Reports of survey were used to show the efficiency of such code. However, the reasons given to support the code lacks cogency and hence, are not justified.

For example, as per the author, Groveton College calls for students who assures not to cheat in their academics, however, only based on assurance of students of Groveton College, can we accept the honor code? What if students of this particular student agree not cheat, but the students of other colleges refused for such an agreement? Or what if they agree but still continued cheating? These all situations are not properly justified by the author and hence the argument is somewhat fallacious.

Secondly, Groveton’s honor code replaced a system encompassing close monitoring with a different protocol. Also, as per author, under the new system, teachers reported an average of thirty cheating cases in one year. But, on what basis it can be assumed that the teachers reported correctly? It might be possible that the average calculated by faculty, actually neglected the dispersion of cheating cases in one year. Apart from this, no information is given regarding the month in which more cheatings were done. Hence it is devoid of persuasiveness.

Thirdly, the statistics are given so as to show the drop of number of cheating cases from 21 cases in first year of enactment to 14 cases in fifth year. Furthermore, a recent survey shows a majority of Groveton student to confess that they are less likely to cheat with honor code in place than without. On this basis, the author concluded that every college should impose this code. However, no cogent or firm study is done so as to know who these students are? Are they frequent cheaters or honest students? What if they never cheat? Along with this, the author overshadows a fact that every student is different. If a code is working on Groveton College students, it cannot be confirmed that it will work on other college students too. Therefore, the author should consider such points before imposing the code on students of other colleges.

To conclude, the argument is not wholly fallacious. It is possible that honor code might work on other students too. But, the author might strengthen his statement by examining thoroughly and providing much weighty evidences in support of his argument.