Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separate

studies. First, US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile

accidents versus only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second, studies indicate that pilots are four

times less likely than average to have accidents on the road.Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine

whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would

have on the validity of the argument.

The author of the passage contends that flying is safer than driving. In order to determine whether the argument is reasonable, some questions must be answered. First of all, the author deals with absolute numbers rather than proportions. Secondly, he does not give any authenticity of his study. Finally, the author makes a very vague relation between pilots are better drivers on average so they must be better fliers. The argument may seem coherent at first glance, however, upon scrutiny, the argument appears seriously flawed based on questionable assumptions.

The author compares 40000 deaths in the automobile with 200 flight accidents. This comparison shows that a total number of deaths are more in the automobile but does not tell us what is the death proportionally to the total number of the passengers. For instance, if only 200 passengers are traveling by flight, then traveling by flight does not seem safer. To make the argument more reasonable the author must compare the proportions rather than the absolute numbers otherwise the argument remains flawed.

The author should tell about the sample size of the study, how it was conducted, was there any control group. For instance, if the study picked up a sample which does not represent the population the argument remains on questionable grounds. Further, the statistics are given of only US but we all know that air routes contain airplanes from the world. It would be wise to validate all the assumptions before proceeding to a conclusion.

The most questionable statement in the argument was that the author trying to infer that since pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road. This comparison is not logical at all and thus questionable. For instance, a shark which is an excellent swimmer is not an excellent flier. In fact, it can't fly at all. Therefore, the author must rectify his statement to make his argument more reasonable.

Evidently, the author has not thought things through. He has should have checked the authenticity of the study before concluding. The comparison he has made that pilots are the better driver, so they are better flier is baseless and is questionable. Finally, the proportion of deaths should be given rather than absolute numbers to make more sense from the data. Without these changes, speakers argument that flying is safer than driving remains questionable and thus unconvincing.