Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Deer

Reports of local hunters - may not be representative

Coincide - correlated, not causative relationship - other examples are plausible.

global warming may not

The argument states that arctic deer are experiencing a decline in their populations in Canada's arctic regions. Though its assessment may be possible, its evidence is rather lacking and relies heavily on unproven assumptions. Therefore, the argument yields an incomplete and insufficient report with many gaping points of evidence.

The first issue comes from the evidence that reports from local deer hunters inform the decline of the deer population. There is no indication of the accuracy and representativeness of these reports. The subjective experiences of the deer hunters may not reflect the actual deer population. It is possible that most deer hunters live in the warmer regions of the arctic regions and the deer have moved further north away from the hunters. A more rigorous assesssment is necessary to accurately inform the deer population. In addition since the reports are from some local deer hunters, it may be possible that even if they are correct that their region has experiences a decrease in deer numbers, other regions may be instead flourishing or consistent in population. A simple examination of the reporting metric reveals that the premise of the argument itself is on precarious grounds. More rigorous, more accurate and more representative surveys and studies are necessary to properly stregthen the argument and prove without a doubt that deer populations are decreasing.

The argument continues to stumble however even if deer populations are proven to decreasing. It claims that global warming trends making sea ice to melt are the direct cause when the argument is not supported. There only exists a correlation between the two events as the argument states that the events coincide at the same moment. While it is plausible, there could be many causes and those other causes could be much more important than the global warming trends. One plausible explanation could be an upsurge of predators such as grey wolves and bears that efficiently hunt arctic deer and cull their numbers. Another sufficient explanation could disease epidemics and pandemics that spread efficiently in deer populations and wipe them out. From a fundmental understading of the difference between correlation and causation and numerous examples, it is shown that the argument's claim is not adequately explained at all and can much better be explained by other theories.

A careful and thorough analysis of the argument shows that its claims are grossly inadequate and lacking sufficient proof. There are numerous other explanations that can be more satisfactory and likely to occur. There needs to be better research to support its initial premise of decreasing deer population and causative link between its two events to properly become a valid claim.