Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The author concludes that the declining population of Arctic deer is due to an increase in global warming. In support of the conclusion author cites two separate reports – first, the reporting of decreasing populations of the deer; second, the increasing global warming trends. However, the argument hinges on several other assumptions, which need to be tested

To begin with, the information that the deer population is decreasing is coming from deer hunters! As ironic it may seem that the hunters have raised this issue of decreasing numbers of deer in the region. Did they have any previous year’s data to conclude this? When and how did they conduct a survey of the population? What was the size of area in which they observed the population of the deer? Therefore, it must first be checked whether the hunter’s observation was correct in the first place. If, it is revealed that the local hunters miscalculated and reported wrongly the conclusion would be falsified.

Furthermore, another report that claims that increase in global warming leads to melting of sea ice and the deer could not move around in search of their food hence the decrease in population. While there is a possibility that it may have been the case, there is no specific quantified data that supports this assumption. How do we know that the global warming lead to melting of that specific ice mass which had plants that deer’s eat? It could be that due to the global warming impact the ice that melts was not that of the grazing area of the Arctic deer. If, that is indeed the case then deriving any conclusion based on this assumption would be incorrect.

To sum, the argument is based on assumptions which are not be supporting it. Without probing further questions it will not be possible to arrive at any definite conclusion. Relating observations by untrained hunters with global warming and extrapolating to reduction in deer population seems an overstretched argument.