Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

Whilst it is understandable that the advertising director would like to increase the exposure Super Screen-produced movie, which in turn could lead to increase in profit for the company, a few questions will need to be addressed before one could fully decide on the merit of the recommendation to allocate a greater share of budget in the following year.

Firstly, the company needs to ask what the actual number of people attending its movie as compared to other production company. There could perhaps be a universal decline of viewership and not just one that is experienced only by Super Screen. If this is the case, advertising how much fun it is to go to the movies will yield better results than advertising about their good move reviews, a claim made by the advertising director.

Secondly, the company needs to ask how much have their positive reviews increased by. If is went from 1% to 2%, advertising about their good reviews will not have the desired results of increasing movie viewership. Super Screen would be much better off producing better movie qualities, which will most likely result in increased movie attendance. Worse still, if the percentage of positive reviews increased but the absolute number of positive reviews actually decreased, the advertising director is overstating the importance of advertising their good movie reviews. Instead, more effort should be focused on answering why the the number of positive movie reviews has in fact decreased.

Thirdly, Super Screen would need to ask what the relationship is between their viewers and movie reviewers. Through surveys and research on their target audience, Super Screen would need to determine what effect movie reviews have on viewer’s decision whether to go catch the movie. Also, Super Screen also needs to consider how its movies appeal to movie reviewers and general viewers. If Super Screen-produced movies recently seen a shift in genre to something such as drama, the general public might find the movie less appealing than movie reviewers.

Finally, Super Screen must ascertain whether the percentage of positive reviews is actually relevant to measure the potential impact of movie reviews. A popular movie reviewer’s feedbacks will have a much larger impact on the general public than small time film bloggers movie reviews. That is, Super Screen should not assign equal weightage of impact to all movie reviews. If the most popular movie reviewer rated Super Screen movie badly, even with a high percentage of good movie reviewers, general viewers might be dissuaded to watch the movie. They would need to think of a new advertising strategy instead of being fixated with the percentage of good reviews.

In conclusion, there are many questions that needs to be answer before heeding the advice of the advertising director. Super Screen would need to look carefully at the number for viewership and movie reviews, the relationship that target audience have with movie reviewers and the nuanced look at the movie reviews that they use in their advertising, failing which the proposed plan might not have the intended effect.