asdfasdf

The business manager of the television station argues for a restoration of the time allotted for weather and local news to the previous levels and claims that the loss of advertisement income and the complaints received from the viewers stem from the reduced time allotment for the same. While this could be the case, various evidences are required to decide the merit of the argument.

The first claim the author puts forward is that, after reduction of time for local news and weather news, the station saw that majority of the complaints received from the viewers where regarding coverage of the local and whether news. The term 'most' is vague and does not give a clear picture of the perceived consumer discontent. If the station only received four complaints and three of them were regarding the local news and weather coverage, then it misrepresent the opinion of the viewer population. Even if we assume that this is not the case and majority of the viewers were actually dissatisfied with the programme, we cannot conclude that the reason is a reduced time. The customers could well be dissastisfied about the content of the local news. The local news covered could be irrelevant and the weather predictions be erroneous and in disagreement with official sources. It could also be the poor quality of people handling the specific programmes-if the people who handled them earlier were transferred to national news. So evidence suggesting that the complaints' root lies in the reduced time are required to evaluate the argument. Along with this it might be the poor quality of the national news which

Even if the local and weather news' keeps up in quality, the loss of advertisement suffered cannot be directly related to the reduced time because, it could be due to a myriad of other reasons such as the the station as a whole losing the viewer rating, or the change in advertisement policies of the local business. If the viewers were swayed by any other station, it is reasonable to think advertisers will no more want to advertise with the station regardless of how it schedules the programmes. Also a change in policy of advertising, or in general policy altogether, of the business could result in them deciding to cancel advertisement contracts with the channel and instead pursue other marketing strategies or to rely on print media for advertisement.

The manager in concluding the argument claims that the restoration of increased time for local news will see reduced complaints and increased advertisement income. Such a conclusion is based on the assumption that nothing has changed over a year as to the television viewing habits of the people and policies of the local businesses. Such a prediction also ignores the possibilities of attracting more advertisements and viewership by improving quality of the programmes offered and without the specific evidences discussed above the suggestion, if accepted, may be found to serve no good for the station.