In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The author of this argument suggests to abandon the Prunty County policy in decreasing the speed limit, and rather attempt to improve the quality of its roads to decrease the number of accidents it highways. However, he/she has based his/her argument on questionable evidences and does not provide a persuasive case for the proposed project.

First and fore most, the evidence needed to evaluate the success of the current policy, is the rate of accidents in Prunty county in comparison with a standard rate or at least the Butler country. Although some drivers is said to exceed the speed limit and the number of accidents has remained fixed, current number of accidents is not clear and one may not make sense how critical is the level of accidents in Prunty county and whether taking further actions in vital.

Furthermore, even the number of accidents is above the standard level, the author assumes that highways of Prunty County have poor quality and that is the main reason of accidents, thus they should follow the same policy as Bulter County. This is just an assumption and it is not supported by sufficient evidence. One can identify different reasons of accidents in Pruty country, vehicle conditions, bad weather condition, in sufficient alcohol test, to name but a few. Therefore, to strengthen his/her argument the author would better provide a full details of the reasons of accidents in Pruty county and highlight those that could have been avoided by better road conditions.

Eventually, the author associates the 25 percent decrease in accident of Bulter County with the road improvement projects carried out last year. The author also compares two statistics with 4 years gap. This hypothesis is flawed since during this 5 years, vehicles’ safety improves each year that might be an important contributor to that level of decrease. In addition, the author does not provide any information about other measures that were taken in Bulter County that might have resulted in decreasing number of accidents. Public awareness programs, alcohol test, better weather condition might have also be involved in such progress.

Based on the aforementioned flaws of this argument and numerous doubtful evidences, the author did not offer a persuasive case for initiating the road improvement project. To strengthen his/her argument, the author should frist provide comparison of the number of accidents with standard level or at least that of Bulter Country, and second, he/she should include detailed statistics regarding the contribution of all possible reasons in current accidents of Prunty county to identify the most effective action to take in order to decrease the number of accidents.