On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

The author claims that because of the increase of number of people who use mopeds as a transportation way during summer, the number of accidents increases and the council of the Balmer Island decides to reduce the allowed number to be rented by the rental companies to half. The argument has many weak and hidden points and there are also many assumptions may tend to be not correct.

First of all, the author says that the goal from reducing the number of mopeds during summer is to reduce the number of accidents. Here there are many questions pose themselves. Why the number of population does increase during summer months and what the connection between this increase with the moped accidents?. If the accidents happen from people that came to Balmer during summer, should the Balmer’s council have to ban using moped without license proves the ability for the rider to drive moped?

Furthermore, the author mentions that the rental companies will reduce the number of an available moped from 50 to 25, but the author does not say if there is another form of transportation that people can use instead of moped. For example, maybe the council can provide the cell as an another option for people. Moreover, the board can take some steps to reduce the number of accidents as a solution for the problem. For instance, they can provide special routes for mopeds’ riders.

Finally, the author says that the decision was taken from the council after the Sallie's town reduced the number of moped rentals but here there are many vague points.First, we do not know whether Seavellie's city provided another option for people to use instead of moped. Moreover, we do not have any information about Seavellie’s area, and that is considered as a critical factor to decide the reduction percentage of the moped for Balmer town.

In sum, the author provides many assumptions without apparent reasons. And the decision taken from Balmer town does not depend on careful studies and numbers.