Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

The author of the argument claims that the obesity rate in the Benton city will soon be below the national average because of the healthier eating habits of the Benton city residents. To support this claim he cited various evidences. Although this evidences appear to bolster the author's argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So the author needs to cite the various evidences to make the argument more sound :

Firstly, the author said that the eating habits changed from the last 10 years but he didn't mentioned what were the eating habits at that time. Maybe they used to eat other things that deteriorate their health. So there might be no co-relation between the product author mentioned and the health. The effect of other substances on the health is also not mentioned in the argument. A person doesn't eat only a single thing in his daily routine but a variety of other eatables too. The effect of climatic conditions on the health is also not stated. Weather conditions also doesn't remain same in 10 years, maybe the weather was unfavourable at that time. Weather can also be the reason for their health deterioration at that time.

Secondly, the author claims that good health deterioration now-a-days is due to the four-fold increase in the Kiran substance in the product which ultimately decreases the cholestrol level but the proper data regarding the effect of Kiran or Sulia isn't stated. Their is no proper stastistical data regarding the effect of this product on the health. It is also possible that this effects might be a short term. Depending on the result of the statistics, the author's argument can be bolstered on enervated. Proper valid prrofs are required to bolster this claim. Salubrious health can also be due to the other healthier products that came up in the market like fruits, vegetables that nullify the effects harmful effects and make good health possible.

Last but not least, the author claims that the good health become possible due to the healthy eating habits only but there might be other reasons too like people started exercising daily, lifestyle might be improved, physical work by them increased etc.

In sum, the author needs to provide more specific evidences to show that good health is due to the improvement in the eating habits only or due to the substance named Kiran only. Without these specific evidences, the author's claim that the obesity rate will soon decrease loses it's conviction.