Chemists have determined that spring water from Augusta, Maine contains minerals necessary for a healthy body. Residents of Augusta, Maine, have a longer life span than the average U.S. citizen. Even though spring water from Augusta, Maine may be expensive, it is a superior choice over drinking general tap water.

Although it seems convincing to drink Augusta's spring water over tap water, the assumptions provided by the chemists are flawed. The chemists assumed Augusta's spring water to be superior over tap water due to a few misunderstanding. The chemist are unable to provide evidence about Augusta's residence lifestyle, residents' consumption of spring water, and Augusta's tap water.

First flaw, the notion that Augusta's residents has longer life spans than the average U.S. citizen due to the consumption of Augusta's spring water. A closer examination of the Augusta's residents have to be made to link the spring water and life-spans together. Genetics, lifestyle, and diet has is highly linked to a long and healthy lifespan. A healthy diet and rigorous exercising can expand a person's life without any type of mineral water. In Japan, where the most centurions live, the people's diets mostly consists of rice, vegetable, and seafood. Life spans can be correlate to a variety of different areas, not just the water they drink. Chemist have to look at the different lifestyle factors of Augusta's residents.

Second flaw, the notion that residents in Augusta drinks the spring water from Augusta. Their are no evidence that the residence of Augusta consume their own spring water. Even if they do, the amount is not provided. Given that spring water is expensive, the residence might not buy much of it and give preference to drinking tap water. A close examination of the types of water Augusta's residence drinks has to be provided.

Third flaw, spring water is better than tap water. Chemists has found healthy minerals in Augusta's spring water but does not provide any information about Augusta's tap water. The spring water and tap water could be coming from the same area and potentially have the same nutrients. The tap water could even have more nutrients and minerals than the spring water. A close examination of both the tap water and spring water have to be close examined and compared before assuming spring water is a better choice than tap water.

In order to fully examine the effects of Augusta's spring water, other areas have to be studied to provide proof for the effectiveness of Augusta's spring water. The chemists have to provide evidence about Augusta's residence lifestyle, residents' consumption of spring water, and Augusta's tap water.