"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that citizens of forsythe have led a healthy lifestyle through nutritional substances that governments offer. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that a recent survey has shown that nutritional program by the government has influenced people positively and they use it more regularly than ten years ago. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if this survey is accurate and reliable. One point that should be considered is that the author does not show that how many and to the extent people took part in this survey. Indeed, maybe a few people have responded to this study and there is a possibility that they did not tell the truth. What if these people just want to advertise the government's program? It is also important to say that perhaps people in ten years ago were more informed about health problems and did not need to be aware of such kind of program behalf of the government.

The author also asserts that the use of Kiran have increased drastically owing to the fact that based on scientists' study it helps diminish cholesterol. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects, due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that there are majorities of problems that prevent people from leading a healthy lifestyle such as fat, sedentary life, fast food and so forth, not just cholesterol. Also, the author does not provide any information that to the extent people suffer from cholesterol. Alongside that, the increased use of Kiran is not a good reason for the lead a healthy life due to the fact that maybe people decline their use of Kiran one day in future. In fact, perhaps people buy this substance for various usages not just eating.

Finally, as set forth by the author many people reduce uses of sulia, which prevent individuals from adopting the healthy lifestyle. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if cut down using this substance is really useful for health. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe this product is not tasty or delicious that people prefer not to eat. There is a possibility that this substance has profound impacts on people's health owing to the fact that no one has proved its usefulness yet.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.