The city council of Smithville has instituted changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes require that the town hire more police officers, budget more funds for police overtime, and direct officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility will significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer.

Local newspaper in Smithville asserts that the city council of Smithville will increase the visibility of the police officers by changing the police procedures. To support this idea, newspaper adduces that there should be more police officer to be hired, more funds for extra-time work, more police officer who walks on the road. The argument are seemingly logical at first glance. However, there are some unsubstantiated evidences that doesn’t connect with the idea of improvement of police visibility.

The argument is strengthened if there is additional evidence about more funds for extra-work of police. Why do they need the overtime work? Author implies that if police work overtime, then there is increasing frequency of visibility, which means there is no gap between former and after police work. However, there was no assumption that police officers are neither working individually. There should be enough evidence on more funds for police overtime.

Furthermore, local newspapers is strengthened by additional evidence that if direct officers walks around crowded area where so many people are walking. There is no such connection of having direct officers walk more than using patrol cars with helping the visibility. For example, direct officers walks more on the area of non-populated area than crowded area. This can be invalid for the argument showing improvement of visibility and secure Smithville.

Last but least, there should be a more evidence on hiring new police officers. Police officers get hired with different reasons. For example, some police officer get hired because of the space left for administration. Further, some police officers get hired because they have to control traffics. If local newspaper shows the proof of having more visibility from Smithville citizen, then new hired police officers should get in the job of direct officers.

In conclusion, increasing visibility of police line in Smithville with unsubstantiated evidences are not reasonably logical because there was insufficient information of local newspaper having. But if there are additional information about evidence with specific direction, it will eventually help to strengthen the argument of improvement of visibility of police line.