"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author present the problem of increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway. He then presents a plausible solution- additional lane. However, comparing the Green Highway results, the author rejects the solution. Here the author make varied unwarranted assumptions about the highways . The author then proceeds stating another solution- a bicycle lane. Though the reasoning is faulty, the author finally concludes that the bicycle lane will be advantageous. Because of lack of evidences, the assumptions made were erroneous and hence the conclusion is ill-founded.

Th...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.