The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The above prompt suggests a discussion that is taking place between two competing parties who have a contradicting point of view regarding the solution proposed by the council of Maple County to curb over-development in the county. The proponents are of the view that curbing over-development would not mean that the prices of housing in Maple County will rise significantly and give the evidence of Chestnut County. On the contrary, opponents of the proposal suggest that the prices of housing will increase sharply and base their point on the observations drawn from Pine County. the council predicts that the proposed measure would lead to increase in house prices and side with the opponents of the proposal. The evidences provided by both sides seem legible during the first reading, but a close scrutiny unearths a few fallacies which might lead the council to mull over their decision again.

Firstly, is the demographic setup of Maple County and Chester County the same? If it happens to be different, the comparison of Maple County with Chester County proves to be unwarranted. If the people living in Chester County are not as affluent as the ones in Maple County, then it could possibly prove why the house prices have not increased sharply in Chester County. Moreover, the measure, to be proposed at Maple County, was implemented in Chester County ten years ago. At that time, it could be possible that this measure was a viable option, but it can be a true that such a proposal would not be of the best interest for Maple County in the present scenario.

Secondly, the opponents of the proposal compare Maple County with Pine County. The same question arises again. Is Pine County comparable to Maple county in terms of its demographic landscape? If this does not happen to be the case, then the comparison seems to take place between two entirely dis-similar counties. Perhaps, the spending power of the citizens of Pine County is so large that it has led to an increase in the house prices. Another possible reason could be the inefficiency of the council at Pine County to regulate the prices in housing sector that has lead to such a marked increase in the housing prices.

Lastly, the council of Maple County predicts that if the proposed measure is passed, it will lead to increase in house prices in Maple County. This prediction sits upon evidences that could prove to be unwarranted and dubious and the questions raised above could well be an indication that the prediction of the council lies upon premises that have not been verified.

In sum, the evidences provided by both the factions seem to be completely baseless. They seem to lend no support to the argument that are being made. Therefore, it seems hard to predict whether the proposed measure by the council would lead to an increase in house price in Maple County or no.