Davis Technologies, a computer-chip maker, could solve its problem of declining sales by dropping its prices. This would make Davis better able to compete in the highly competitive computer chip market. The sales of chips would increase and this would sub

It is reasonable that Davis Technologies would like to solve its problem of declining sales, however the suggested solution of dropping the prices of its chip is an ill-informed one. The argument's conclusion is founded on questionable assumptions, flaw reasoning and relies on the logical fallacy of the slippery slope argument.

The argument claims that the solution to Davis Technologies problem is to drop the prices of its computer chip. However, we would need to know more about how the prices of Davis' chip compare with their competitors. If they already offer their chip as one of the lowest in the market, decreasing the price of its chip might not have the intended outcome. In this case, Davis Technologies would be better off look into alternative explanations underpinning their declining sales. Perhaps it is the quality of their chip and not the price that is affecting their sales. Without knowing anything about Davis Technologies pricing strategies, one would not be able to tell how effective this solution will be if applied.

Furthermore, the claim states that decreasing the price of chips would help Davis compete in the highly competitive computer chip market. There is an unstated assumption that Davis could afford the drop in price of their computer chip. It is reasonable that in order for Davis to maintain the same profit margin as before, the drop in price could result in a drop in quality of their computer chips. This could have undesirable effects if Davis Technologies target market is avid gamers who are willing to spend top dollars for quality computer chips. Consumers might not be satisfied with the quality of subsequent chips and worse still could stop being customers entirely.

The statement also claims that with an increase sales of chip, Davis Technologies would be able to compete in the highly competitive computer chip market and thus substantially boost its market share. How the claim makes the connection between the two is unclear. Although there are other computer-chip maker out there, perhaps Davis Technologies is a pioneer in the industry in that they are competing in vastly different target market as the rest. For example, Davis Technologies could be targeting the market of low powered electronic devices and they already command the largest market share globally. Increasing sales is always a positive thing for any business, but claiming that the increase in sales of chips would bolster Davis's market share is clearly a stretch.

In conclusion, we can see that the claim is founded on tenuous arguments and flawed assumptions. More evidences would be needed to support and bolster the validity of the claim. Otherwise, it is difficult to see how the above statement will make for a cogent and convincing claim to help buck the trend of declining sales for Davis Technologies.