During the past year Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on the job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on the job acci

\In the argument, the author claims that Q reduce its work shifts by one hour each in order to reduce its on-the-job accident rate and thereby increase Q’s productivity. To support this, the author cites several evidences: firstly, last year the number of accidents at Q was 30% greater than at P, where work shifts were one hour shorter. in addition, certain experts believe that many on-the-job accidents are caused by fatigue and sleep deprivation. Close scrutiny, however, reveals that it suffers from several logical flaws as follow.

First and foremost, the argument observes a correlation between P' shorter work shifts and P's lower on-the-job accidents, then concludes that the former is the cause of the latter. Nevertheless, the author fails to rule out other reasons. For example, since P's statistical methods are different from other companies, it only counts several heavy accidents. Moreover, P might take the productive security serious, or P's employees are all with high quality. Any of these factors might lead to the low frequency of on-the-job accidents. Without ruling out all of such factors, the argument is untenable.

Secondly, even though P's shorter work shifts result in its low frequency of accidents, it is unfair to assume that P will be a valuable example for Q. Since excepting from work shifts hours and on-the-job accidents, there are no other information about two companies presented in the argument. Perhaps, P's jobs allow it has 7 hours work shift, without any side effects on productivity, whereas, Q's jobs are more continuous, which needs every employee work longer. Thus, P's strategy is not suitable for Q. Therefore, without showing that the two firms are similar in all of related respects, the author cannot justify his opinion that by implementing P's work shift polict, Q would also reduce on-the-job accidents, with few adverse effects on its productivity.

Last but not least, the author unfairly assumes that Q’s workers would use the additional hour of free time to sleep or rest. However, the author provides no evidence that they would use the time in this manner. It is entirely possible that workers would use that extra hour to engage in some other fatiguing activity. Without ruling out this possibility the author cannot convincingly conclude that reducing Q’s work shifts by one hour would reduce Q’s accident rate.

To sum up, the arguer fails to substantiate the claim that adopting P's shorter work shifts would result in the decrease of Q's on-the-job accidents. The arguer would have to provide more evidence with regard to the causality between P's work shifts and its on-the-job accidents. Additionally, he would have to justify his assumption that Both of two companies are comparable. Furthermore, I would need more information concerning that employees at Q must avail the time saved to have a rest rather than to do other things and avoiding fatigue and sleep deprivation must lead to the decrease of accidents.