Essay topics: The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

New Ventures Consulting is showing the idea that consulting Hobco, a hobby shop will have many customers in Grildon. The reason why they are trying to establish the hobby shop in Grildon is because Grildon has many retirees and 88 percent of respondents are welcomed to have more hobby shop. This argument seems very logically convincing at first reading, but it has some defect of assumption that would affect strength of argument.

The argument should answered the question that if respondents of 88 are the people who are not the retirees, then it will affect the vision of have Hobco in Grildon. It is true that there are large population of retirees, but it is possible that when New Venture Consulting will have poll, they would only have response from the workers, or it could be a response from the northwestern of Grildon. So there should be specific condition that 88 percent of retirees from southeaster of Grildon would respond that they are welcomed to have more hobby shop.

Author shows that the statistics that there are 300 percent increase of foundation of hobby shop in Grildon. So the question need to be answer is Hobco is very competitive company in this region. Even though south western Grildon doesn’t have any hobby shop, people from southeaster will go to other sites to buy their interest. It will have so many competitions. Then, it will cause the deflection of Hobco shop. However, if Hobco has more innovative items than the others, then they will gain more customers.

Argument should answer the question that how many retirees in southeastern Grildon. More people of retiree who live in southeastern, more possibility to have many customers. Grildon has large population of retirees, but argument is only showing the fact and didn’t show that how many retirees in southeastern. If there are large amount of people who are retirees, then argument can have their assumption.