Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors.

Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30

percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student

achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its

graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Omega university is planning to terminate the student evaluation of professors. This procedure is being considered responsible for lesser recruitment of Omega students. From the time the procedure has come into effect,there has been a rise in student grades dramatically. This sudden rise in grades is negatively influencing the recruiters as they are seeing it as an inflation and not rise in actual student education quality. Additionally, more number of Alpha graduates are being hired as compared to Omega graduates. Although, at first glance the argument may seem cogent, but it is rife with loop holes and questionable assumptions.

The author posits that since the implementation of the teacher evaluation procedure professors are assigning higher grades to students. The overall rise in the grade averages has been 30 percent. However, on closely analyzing this data one can see that a 30 percent increase over 15 years is not such a drastic change. At the same time, it is quite possible that within this same period some other changes where implemented. For example: addition of new teaching personnel, a change in course of study, increased number of teaching hours, adoption of new teaching styles. Any of these changes could also have the exact same effect. However, the author has overlooked to mention any other changes during the fifteen year period in this argument.

Building on the same lines of increased grades, the author mentions that the employers are looking at this rise as inflation. But, it is not clear whether it is author's opinion as to how the employers are perceiving the current scenario or the actual perspective of the recruiters that has been mentioned in this argument. Thus, the validity of this evidence is flimsy. Even if that is not the case, more concrete data as to whether all the employers have this opinion or only a few have expressed this opinion must be mentioned.

Additionally, the author mentions more Alpha graduates getting hired as compared to Omega graduates. Such comparison requires that everything that is common and uncommon between the two universities be thoroughly analysed. For example: the number of teachers, the number of students, the teaching style, the number of employers visiting each university, etc. Only, after considering all such points can an actual comparison be made. Thereafter, we will get

a true picture regarding the current status of employment rate of both universities.

In sum, unless this argument is supported by valid and more reliable evidences, it cannot be used by the author to convince the Omega University to stop the teacher evaluation by students.