Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The argument reflects the author's suggestion that Omega University should terminate the faculty evaluation process as it has a lot of negative points associated with it. Author finds this evaluation process as a sole reason for students not getting jobs. But this argument does not produce a cogent case for sudden termination of evaluation procedure. It is easy to comprehend the need of termination but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to support the termination of evaluation process.

Citing the statistics of rising grades of students, author posits that the students' grades have risen by 30 percent since the introduction of evaluation process. Author here fails to analyze other factors also. As the time is changing and competition in professional world is increasing rapidly, it is obvious that cognitive abilities of students are also increasing. Due to increased competition, students are working hard to secure jobs and lead a descent settled life. Author ignores this side of reasoning and blindly assumes that the evaluation of professors has led to higher grades. Until this argument is backed up by strong evidences, it will remains questionable.

Additionally, author reports that the employers are denying employment after looking at the inflated rate of achievements. What author here fails to understand is that the employers are third party and know very less about the internal functioning of university. They are not very well aware about the capabilities of students enrolled and the professors involved in evaluation. Instead of looking on the rising achievement rates, employers should focus on the capabilities that a student possess. They should have their own aptitude and technical exams to judge whether a student has potential to secure a job or not.

Finally, the argument does not cover the job requirements and pre-requisites. It might be possible that the employers are looking for different stream of studies, like management or finance, which is not a part of study in Omega University. Courses offered in Alpha University might be different from the courses offered in Omega university. There is also a possibility that students at Alpha university has desired professional skills unlike students at Omega university having only sound theoretical knowledge. Author fails to consider these important factors and draws a faulty conclusion.

Argument should be supported by other evidences also. Author should consider the employer's requirement before taking any decision. Evaluation of professors is a good technique to ensure proper teaching in university. Courses offered and skills required for securing a job should be considered before terminating the process of evaluation of professors.