Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this text, the author claims that Omega University should put an end to students assessing how effective their professors are in teaching. Some arguments are provided to bolster this conclusion but upon careful examination it is revealed that they lack the required consistency to properly constitute the basis of the claimed statement. Hence, more solid evidence is certainly needed to justify the termination of the evaluation programme.

First of all it should be noted that a temporal relationship does not necessarily mean there is a cause-effect relationship between the evaluation system’s implementation (or in a pedantic fashion, that this constitutes a logical fallacy known as Post hoc ergo propter hoc). In order to evaluate whether this causal relationship actually exists one should gather evidence about the real use the students are doing of this procedure, as it is readily assumed that they are. If they are not, the whole discussion is pointless and other reasons should be taken into consideration as culprit for the high grades. Even if they do use the tool with which they have been provided one could not conclude that it’s the reason why the grades have gone up as the implementation of the procedure might have happened together with other projects that were devised to improve the teaching effectiveness of the professors, such as better classroom equipment or higher paychecks. Finally, the tool might be actually effective in providing teachers with adequate feedback so they can improve the way they work; this would certainly undermine the conclusion the author provides. All these points should be properly assessed in order to provide better arguments for the given conclusion.

In addition to the aforementioned caveats another critique that can be done to the arguments that the author presents is that it carelessly assumes that the unsuccessfulness of Omega’s students is due to a fall in interest of the employers towards them. Additional reasons could be held responsible for this. Perhaps Omega University is not teaching up to date content. Perhaps Alpha University is better at what they are doing than Omega University (it certainly would not be the first time that alpha comes before omega anyway, first the alphabet, then the world). Also, Alpha University might have some sort of agreement with the employers that grants its graduates better future prospective. Given these possible reasons, summed up to those addressed before, it is obvious that further assessment of the situation is needed.

In conclusion, the argument is inconsistent as it stands. The stated possibilities should be addressed adroitly, providing better evidence and evaluating those issues that have been treated above. If this is correctly done, the argumentation would be reinforced and become much more persuasive.