Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The claim offered seems to be eloquent at first glance, but on close examination, it has some logical fallacies which lead to a wrong judgement to the evaluation program of faculties in Omega University. This essay is going to list all the defects the claim has and give some possible ways for the university to better prove their students’ ability.

Firstly, potential employers have doubts on the real achievement of students in Omega University because of the unusual rise in grades after the implementation of evaluation procedure of professors. It is possible that Omega University attracted top students from high school at the cost of higher scholars. Therefore, the higher grades were reasonable because top students performed better. So detailed data regarding the admission of students in Omega University should be collected to give the employers a comprehensive knowledge about the students from the beginning.

Secondly, the claim only presented a procedure of evaluating professors, what if there were some other programs conducting at the same period, such as additional courses for improving the performance of students. The university should give a list on all the programs the college implemented fifteen years ago to make the employers fully understand the policy and better evaluate the students in a more comprehensive way.

Finally, potential employers evaluate students’ abilities only through their grades, which are easily to draw wrong judgements about students. For example, some students are poor with their grades, but they have a better performance when doing things they are truly interested with, such as software programming. This kind of students tend to be self-motivated and focus more on crafting their skills instead of boring grades. If enterprises only judge students by their grades, they are more likely to miss the potential gurus in some specific areas. Hence, employers is encouraged to make evaluation system from different aspects, including grades, practical ability and etc. Also, some contests such as debates and programming can be arranged to give employers a chance to know the students in a different way.

In sum, more efforts should be made, instead of terminating the evaluation program in a ruthless way, to let the employers better evaluate the students in Omega University. In this way, employers may discard their biased evaluation which is only derived from the abnormal increase of students’ grades in the past fifteen years.