Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The claim offered seems to be eloquent at first glance, but on close examination, it has some logical fallacies which lead to a wrong judgement to the evaluation program of(to) faculties in Omega University. And the decision to terminate the evaluation program may not bring desirable results.

Firstly, the author did not mention the percentage of the students participate in the program every year. If there’re only a small proportion of students who give their evaluation regularly, terminating the program could not have a significant impact on the overall grades inflation trend.

Secondly, the author linked the grades inflation with the implementation of evaluation procedure, but it is entirely possible that Omega University attracted top students from high school at the cost of higher scholars since 15 years ago. Or the university upgraded its facilities and introduced more professional teacher to provide the students with better learning environment. All the actions listed above could result in the better performance of students. Therefore, the grades inflation may only be a coincidence that after the beginning of evaluation procedure.

Finally, even if the grades increase has a strong relationship with the evaluation program, the author fails to take other possible explanations, such as students’ lack of job training, into consideration. Students without proper job training may not master the skills in the interviews, which could affect their performance in the job market. Moreover, students in Omega university may pursue their degrees in more theoretical fields like physics and math, which there’re less job opportunities for them to choose, thereby resulting the inferior performance in finding a job compared to students of Alpha university. Thus, the evaluation program should not be over criticised before more evidences are presented to articulate the real causes of the less interest employers have on students in Omega university.

In sum, more information and investigation should be conducted to better understand the initial situation, including admission standards, facilities and faculties status, etc, the university first launched the evaluation program. In this way, we are able to reach at a conclusion about whether it is useful to stop the evaluation program in order to empower students to get a better job.