Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The presented argument states that Omega university students grades are higher due teaching evaluations program for professors in the university. Due to which students are not successful in getting jobs and it is recommended to terminate this program to secure graduates jobs. However, in order to evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence. The argument could end up being much weaker than it seems, or it might actually be quite valid. In order to make this determination, let's analyze argument.

Firstly in the argument, it is not very cogent that increase in students grades is only due to teacher evaluation program. Argument states that increase in grades is from the time when evaluation program implemented. Author just assumes that teachers give bribe of good grades to the students, so that they can get good evaluation from students. There are many other possibilities in which students grades improve, it is could happen that students evaluation program also implemented by university, same as teacher evaluation program and students started doing more hard work to get good feedback from teachers or increase in grades is observed only in particular group of students for example who are about to graduate, not in students who are in first or second year of college. In this case, more information is required before reaching on conclusion that raise in grades is only due to teacher evaluation program.

Argument also states that potential employers think that grades doesn't reflect actual achievement. May only one employer thinks this, not all. Author doesn't provide any data of employer's concern about grades for example, how many employer are saying the same, are they know about this evaluation program? It is possible that employer took interview or any eligibility test of students and they failed to perform good and employer thought that students couldn't perform despite of good grades they have, it means grades are not true criteria of students selections for job.

In the argument, the omega university is compared with alpha university, by stating that alpha university students are successful in getting jobs. Author didn't provide any information how both universities are compared, do they have same majors, or similar IQ level students or are both universities are doing equal efforts to attract employers to their university. The Alpha might have in internship program to train students for prospective jobs and omega not. This case can weaken the argument, if comes true.

Clearly, then, we need to have additional evidence in order to get a more complete

understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of argument. Merely terminating professor evaluation program without doing further analysis may not help students to get jobs.