Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the preceeding argument, the author believes that student evaluation of professors has resulted on overall higher grades and less competitiveness of graduates from Omega University, and thus calls for a termination in the evaluation. At first glance, the recommendation may seem to be plausible; however, a closer scrutiny reveals that the statement above is not supported by evidence proffered.

To begin with, there is no direct causal relationship between the overall rise in student\'s grades and the implementation of evaluation of professors. That professors might expect better evaluations from students by giving higher scores and the concurrence of the two events may make the author\'s speculations compelling, but other possibilities also exists. For instance, may be the teaching qualities really improved after the evaluation begins due to the pressure from students. To figure out the true reasons leading to this dramatic rise, a thorough investigation on the student\'s direct to the teaching quality and the performance of professors is needed.

In addition, the lower employment of Omega graduates compared to Alpha University cannot be solely attributed to the inflated scores, if there is any. Employers evaluate their candidates from multifarious aspects, grades at university being only a small part of them. The author does not rule out the possibility that the ability of Omega students were really outstriped by their counterparts from Alpha University, and the overall high grades only plays a minor role. If this is the case, then it is the education of Omega University that need to be improved. In order to attain concrete evidence for answering this question, a comparison between the working ability of Omega and Alpha graduates would be advisable, instead of only comparing the grades.

Last but not least, even if professors intentionally assigned higher grades to receive better evaluations from students, this does not necessarily mean that student evaluation should be aborted. Arguably, without student evaluation, the performance of professors would be more intractable, which might further devastate the education at Omega University. On the contrary, the administration of Omega University should come up with measures to ensure the integrity of student evaluations. Letting students finish their evaluations before professors assigning their grades might make sense, for instance.

In conclusion, while it may be true that Omega University ought to tackle the problem of overall higher grades assigned by professors to secure its graduate\'s job, the assertions in the arguments are not substantiated by sufficient facts, undermining the valuation of the recommendation that student evaluation should be terminated.