Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo the writer argues that by stopping evaluation of professors might enable graduates of Omega university to get better jobs. To support this argument the writer points out that evaluation of professors by students make professors to give students higher grade, so the overall grade of Omega University have risen. I find the argument specious in several respects.

To begin with, the argument state that the 30 percent increase of overall average grade of students is due to grade inflation, but there can be other persuasive reason this phenomenon. This argument relies on the assumption that students of fifteen years ago have same intellectual with recent students. Yet students of these days are much smarter than before. They study much when they are young than any other student in the past.

Even if the students intellectual is in same state, evaluation of professors can have positive effect on professors’ teaching. Thus, the professors can serve better class to students, and it can increase the students’ ability to get better grade, so it might accurately reflect student achievement.

Even if the evaluation of professor make grade inflation, there is no evidence grade evaluation had bad impact on getting better jobs to graduate. Most companies want recruit better applicant, and the GPA is one of important factors to evaluate applicants. Thus, it can be positive for graduates to inflate their grade.

Finally, writer compare graduate of Omega University with Alpha University about successfulness at getting jobs, but it is possible Alpha University have better program for getting a better job with respect to Omega University like school-industry cooperation program. Thus, it might be server high quality jobs for Alpha University students.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands, to bolster it the writer must provide assurance that the evaluation of professors make grade inflation, and that the inflation of grade had bad effect on graduates to get better jobs.