Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument concludes that termination of student evaluation of professors will help students in securing better jobs in future. The conclusion is based on the premise that the potential employers feel that the high grades of students are result of this new method of professors evaluation and they don't reflect the true aptitude of students. The reasoning in the argument is logically flawed, however, as it relies on a number of assumptions that appear to be completely unsupported.

First, the argument assumes that jobs are entirely dependent on grades and the reason for decline in recent job offers is only because of this sole criteria. It ignores the other possible reasons like low level of practical knowledge of students, less aptitude, improper soft skills like communication, decision making, strategic thinking etc. People give these skills a greater value than grades in selecting candidates to serve in their company. For example, a student securing high grade, which could be attributed to this new mode teachers evaluation, might not have the practical training of implementing those concepts. In addition, poor infrastructure in college and obsolete curriculum could also be responsible for this decline in job offers, which the argument clearly ignores.

Finally, the argument does not take into consideration the fact that getting away with the professor evaluation system will reduce that the accountability of teachers. Hence, this would lead to decline in the teaching standards and quality of professors. Consequently, this would impact the performance of students as they would not have access to quality study material and would be oblivious of the sharp learning techniques. In addition, teachers, in absence of accountability, will not care about the future placement in the campus and there will not be any improvement in the current dismal placement statistics. Without this evidence there is no surety that doing away with this mode of performance evaluation will boost job prospects.

In conclusion, the argument that elimination of professor evaluation by students will lead to a increase in jobs is rather weak. If the author would have demonstrated and taken into consideration other factors which also impact the placement of a potential student candidate, the argument would have been greatly strengthened. Without this additional support, however, there is no reason to accept the conclusion in the argument.