The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded that children in Tertia were reared by the entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands including Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than any other elders of the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Feild's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered approach that my team of graduates is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp puts forth an argument that since the inferences from his interview-centred approach were contradictory to the observation-based approach of Dr. Feild, Dr. Feild's conclusion that child-rearing is done by the entire village is false and that his methodology of research i.e. interview-centric is superior to his. In order to make the argument strong, the author must put forth evidence like the kind of questions asked in the interview, the representative nature of the children interviewed, the correlation of talking time subject to the child rearing and the basis of extrapolating his methods superiority in one aspect to all other fields and aspects.

Firstly, the author must put forth the all the questions that the children at the island of Tertia were asked. Were the questions neutral? It is quite possible that the interviewer might have asked the question specific to their biological parents to those children which would have led to the responses concentrated more on the biological parents than other elders of the village. Therefore, the author must provide us to the entire questionnaire that was used to interview the children. If the questionnaire proves to be neutral, it would lend support to Dr. Karp's claim otherwise, it would undermine his claim that talking more about biological parents imply that they are not reared by the entire village.

Secondly, Dr. Karp should provide us with the evidence that the children he interviewed were representative of the entire village children. It is quite possible that the sample of children picked up by Dr. Karp's team is biased and if made up of those marginal group of children in the village who are raised by their own parents only. Therefore, it is crucial to assess this argument to have the representativeness of the sample interviewed and the proof that it is in no way biased.

Also, the author should explain how the talking time about biological parents related to who reared them. For example, if a child talks about his parent's characteristics or occupation does not mean that they have raised him. Since, the author is employing this logic here, he must evince how the two are correlated and how talking about biological parents leads him to conclude that they are the ones who rear the children and not the entire village.

The other fragile aspect of the argument is that Dr. Karp claims that his interview-centered approach is better for research than the Observation-centered approach of Dr. Field on the basis of just one case. He must give evidence of all the other fields and cases where his modus operandi for the research have proved to be superior to the other way. He must also enlist exhaustively all the cases as well as areas in which Dr. Feild's method of observation-centric approach have proved to be a failure. Without a rigorous analysis, we cannot generalize the expedience of one method over another. It may be proven that this case was an exception and anomaly and in majority of the cases, the other approach proves better.

In sum, the author must provide the evidence asked for in-order to strengthen his argument. Without them, the argument lacks the basis required to assess and is thus fragile and we must be skeptic of it's conclusion.