The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguments states the observation and research of Dr.Field and Dr.Karp on children in Tertia. It argument concludes that the research of Dr.Karp proves the conclusion Of Dr.Field invalid and thus the observation centered approach is invalid too.The evidence cited to support this argument are information of past observation of Dr.Field,recent interviews of children of Tertia and interview centered approach of team of Dr.Karp. However,the the premises are unable to justify or strengthen the argument.The main reason why the argument is rendered inconclusive are fallacious assumptions,ignorance of research conducted.

Firstly,the argument incorrectly assumes the conditions in which the observation and research work is carried out.It may be possible that the economical condition of parents of children may be bad, so to support them whole village look after there child. Also, it can be the case of orphan child, which is interviewed and observed.Hence,the argument is based on faulty assumptions and not logically strong

Secondly,the argument fails to consider the factors that can affect the outcome of the argument in different way.For instance, it may be possible that the child which is interviewed have been asked more question about other people of village rather then their parents.Hence, the argument remain cognizant from these factors and thus weak.

Lastly, the argument falsely assumes that the team of graduate students of Dr.Karp using interview centered method will collect accurate data of child-rearing traditions.It may be possible that bases on conditions on which interview centered method will not be available everywhere. In that case,results will ambiguous.

Hence,the argument primary conclusion that observation centered method is invalid and less efficient then interview centered method.The main reason why the argument seems illogical it includes the incorrect assumptions. The argument can be strengthen by considering important factors and using persuasive information.