The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of article Dr. Karp states that the perviously conducted research on children rearing in island of Tertia was fallacies, which was conducted by Dr. Field. He condemns, not only the conclusions but also the method that was used in previous research. But the argument falls short of evidence, whose imapct is discussed further, otherwise the argument would have been sound and reliable.

To begin with, when Dr. Karp mentions that interviewing the children of Tertia elicits that they talk about their parents more than they talk about other adults, he has not given any additional detail to eliminate the probability of this behaviour being result of rearing by the whole village. The pupil might be doing so as repercussions of missing their parents and not being able to spend time with them. Talking about parents and discussing them might have made them feel comfortable and that is why they have made a habit of their's.

Additionally, author has been very desperate in refuting the previous research, this can be observed by the conjuctures he has made, when stating that the method of observation as well as the observations made by earlier researcher are both wrong. The mere evidence to support this, that Dr. Karp has provided, is his interviews with childrens. But to conclude that previous research was fallacious he would need more than that. Details discerning the flaws incoporated in research based on observations would have made the argument impeccable.

Moreover, 20 years is a long time for any tradition to survive, the village might have curbed previous culture, and have adopted to a new one, in which only the parents are responsible for upbringing of their children. Their has been no evidence stating that no cultural change was observed in island of Tartia.

However, it might be true that Dr. Field had missjudged the inordinate amount of children's involvement with village people to conclude that children are reared by whole village. But, there is no details about the interviews being conducted by Dr. Karp's team, the interviewers themselves might have been asking a myriad of questions related to interviewees parents. Absence of detail over the nature of interview renders the argument questionable.

Conclusively, for several facts describe above, the scarcity of evidence renders the claim of Dr. Karp baseless and fallacious.