The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp is presenting his findings in a certain region named Tertia and at the same time comparing with the finding by Dr. Field about the same topic. The argument needs to be evaluated carefully by considering different aspects in it.

There is a difference of 20 years between two studies conducted on the same topic and that too in the same region. This is a long amount of time in which the mindset of the children may have changed drastically. The children at that time are matured adults now. Dr. Karp’s findings contradict with that of Dr. Field’s. The method of evaluation is completely different used by both and comparing the results based on these don’t seem convincing. Dr.Karp has used the method of interviewing the children. The children are immature at their age and the feedback presented by them may not necessarily be reliable and consistent. Also, talking to their parents does not necessarily reflect that they have been completely reared by the parents and without any influence by the adults of the village. And further no strong data supporting the interview is presented by Dr. Karp. This creates ambiguity in concluding which method is better among the two.

Also, Dr. Karp is directly criticizing Dr. Field about the findings he made two decades ago. Dr.Karp is stating adamantly that his method is superior without presenting supporting facts and figures. Just because his team consists graduates does not necessarily mean that his findings are accurate. Openly criticizing someone else’s finding is not at all professional.

In the end, it is unfair to term the interview based finding to be superior without any concrete evidence from Dr.Karp’s side. At the same time, Dr.Field’s findings cannot be ruled out that easily without considering the whole process of observation.