The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument deals with how Dr. Karp has refuted the conclusion and approach of Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, of child-rearing in the island of Tertia. Dr. Karp believes that his interview-based approach, used by his team of graduate students, will deliver far more accurate understandings than Dr. Field’s observation-based approach. The argument is unwarranted for the following reasons.

Firstly, Dr. Karp states that he and his team took interviews of children in the group of islands, which included Tertia, and came to the conclusion that children were spending more time with their biological parents than other adults in the village, in contrast to Dr. Field’s conclusion, which was made only about the children in the island of Tertia. If Dr. Field’s observations are to be true throughout these 20 years, then it is possible that the children in the other islands are spending more time with their biological parents, except for Tertia. Since there maybe a majority of such views, it has been claimed that children of all those islands spend more time with their biological parents. Also, there is no credible source to verify the veraciousness of these interviews conducted by Dr. Karp. The argument would have been strengthened, if there was a mention of a credible source covering these interviews.

Secondly, Dr. Karp states that the observation-centered approach to study cultures is invalid and that his interview-based approach is more accurate. What needs to be noted that Dr. Field made his conclusion 20 years ago. Since then, it is unknown how unsuccessful the observation-centered approach has been to declare it invalid or how successful the interview-centered approach has been to call it accurate. There is no mention of any other case study which has proved to be accurate using the interview-centered approach. Moreover, it can also be that Dr. Karp is stating these claims to gain popularity and fame. The argument would be more plausible if other case studies were mentioned, citing the approach used.

Finally, Dr. Karp states that his team of graduate students are using the interview-centered method in Tertia. Now, graduate students are not fully professional. Hence there is a possibility that they may make a mistake during their analysis and thus, the results may not turn out to be as accurate as stated by Dr. Karp. This may mean that Dr. Field’s conclusion could well prove to be more accurate than Dr. Karp’s. The argument would have been more valid if the experience and works of these graduate students were explicitly mentioned.

Therefore, for the above mentioned reasons, this argument is deemed unwarranted.