The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This short article written by Dr. Karp, a noted anthropologist, has recommended that the research methodology he is applying in Teria: interview-centered method, is more accurate, and the observation-centered method applied by Dr. Ford, another anthropologist who conducted same research in the same island some 2o years ago, is invalid. He further claims that his method of conducting research will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in Teria and other island cultures. Clearly, however, the assumption made by Dr. Kerp is utterly fallacious, and the derived conclusion is misleading.

First of all, this short article lacks sufficient information about his research methology. The situation might be , like, Dr. Ford himself observed the detail situations applying his observation-centered tools, and reached the conclusion quite meticulously. In contrast, the graduates employed by Dr. Kerp may have perfunctionally carried out interviews with the children of Teria island. Its not a new thing that recently graduated peoples – who often lacks proper seriousness – try their best to avoid their work, or want to complete it in speed, so that they could perform other things like sightseeing of the island, having new food of the new place etc. Therefore, the situation might in the field might be quite different than Dr. Karp thought – and due to cursory interviews did by fresh graduates, a conclusion highly contradictory to the previous studies (by noteworthy anthropologists) may have arrived. Therefore, Dr. Karp should cross-check the work of his fresh graduates, first, before jumping to the conclusion so hurriedly.

Similarly, Dr. Karp unfairly assumes that the children of Teria island, previously supposed to be grown up by the entire village, talk much about their biological parents, and therefore there is no validity in saying they were reared by the entire village. The situation might be different in Teria as assumed by Dr. Karp. After grown up by ther entire village, the childern might have started to talk about their biological parents by knowing from other folks, or due to the milieu of the society, they might have started to keep concern about their parents. Therefore, Dr. Kerp’s assumption would have been stronger if he had explored these things during the research, and had written explicitly in the article.

Moreover, the most fallacious claim of Dr. Karp is that interview-centered method employed by his research team in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in other island cultures as well. He forgets to know that the situation of other islands might not be same as that of Teria: different island, and their demography may demand different type of research methodology. For this moment, if we assume his claims are valid, still there is no guarantee that same research methology and the conclusion can be replicated in other islands too.

In sum, Dr. Kerp’s claims and recommendations are not logically sound. Before, I gesture thumbs up for his efforts, Dr. Kerp must supply cogent evidence regarding the truthfulness in work of fresh graduates, well elaborated evidences collected by his team, and details of his research methodology. Incorporating this facts, and logic, the argument made by Dr. Karp would be more robust than it is now in article.