The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville attempts to bridge a relationship between the size of the average audience and profits in their theatre. The conclusion is based on the fact that because of a 20 percent decline in size of the average audience leads to a significant decrease of profits. However, on deeper analysis there are certain important questions unanswered and facts unnoticed leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws that raise doubt about the author's conclusion.

First of all, the marketing director claims that because of Avon Reportory Company started a ''in the park'' program two years ago which have increased their profits by 10 percent since then this also is going to happen if Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville will going to institute a ''Shakespeare in the Park'' program this summer. It may be possible that ''in the park'' programs are very popular and profitable. However, it is an assumption to claim that a ''Shakespeare in the Park'' program will also be profitable. There have to be more information required about the exact format. Examples are indications that there were other factor which influenced the profits or details about the program.

Secondly, the author claims that because of a decrease in visitors there is a decrease in profits. Of course, it may be possible that fewer visitors leads to lower profits but more information is required. It may happen that the profits per visitor are increased which not indicate lower profits. Another possibility is that there are other major factors which influence the profits. As we know, profits are not only incomes but also expenses. It may be that expenses increased which was leading to lower profits. Thinking of increased rent costs, salary costs or advertising costs.

The author also claims that an ''in the park'' program will attract new audience members. There is more information required to make this conclusion. It may be that only people which know the theatre are coming to this activity. In addition, attract new audience members is not the only option to increase visitor levels. There is also a possibility to come closer to existing customers. As a result of this, they will visit the theatre more often.

To conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions. The report must have presented more concrete evidence to substantiate the claim and make the argument more cogent.