The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

City residents are at odds about how to resolve traffic jams on Blue Highway. Commuters on the highway are experiencing lengthy commutes and want to reduce traffic by having the city widen the road with an additional lane. However, the motorists lobby has seen increased traffic jams on Green Highway following the addition of a lane, and believe that a bicycle lane is a better option. Unfortunately, without further information, it is impossible to tell if the addition of a bike lane would truly reduce commute times.

The first and most obvious problem here is that it would most likely take longer to ride a bicycle to work than to drive a car. If commuters want shorter commute times, suggesting that they ride a bike instead is unlikely to placate them. Perhaps a bike lane is a solution to a different problem-- carbon emissions, increase gas prices, etc, but it is not a solution for commuters who want to get to work more quickly. It might reduce the number of cars on the road, but it may not reduce commute times.

Second, it is hard to say if the additional lane on Green highway was in fact the cause of the increased traffic jams there. What else was happening in the area? Was there a housing boom? Did a new shopping mall open up? Was there construction elsewhere that caused commuters to take a detour through Green highway? A more comprehensive picture of events in the city at that time would shed light on the reason for the increased traffic jams and would inform city planners of issues to avoid should they decide to repeat the process on Blue highway.

In addition to lack of clarity about the cause of the traffic jams, there is only vague information given regarding the "many" residents who are "keen" bicyclists. How many is "many"? Half? 20 percent? And of those who are bicyclists, how many travel Blue highway to work? And what exactly is "keen"? Do they ride bicycles for sport? Pleasure? Is it a spectator sport for them? We need more information about the attitudes toward bicycling to see if a bike lane truly meets a need in the community. Bike lanes sound environmentally friendly and great for the health of city residents, but the issue here is commute time, not tree hugging and combating obesity.

Finally, additional evidence is needed about the long-term success of bike lanes. Has it worked well elsewhere in the city? We need to know if bike lanes have been implemented elsewhere in this city or in a city with similar demographics and traffic patterns in order to predict the impact on traffic flow and commute times.

People hate change, and the motorists lobby seems to be grasping at straws to block the widening of Blue highway with an additional lane. More information is needed about the use of bicycles in the city, as well as the possible reasons for traffic to increase on Green highway after the additional lane. The motorists lobby could improve their argument with evidence of bike lanes reducing commute times, not just the number of cars on the road. This evidence should come from elsewhere in the city or in a city with similar demographics and traffic flow. Or if their endgame is to have bike lanes installed, they could take a different angle and present evidence that bike lanes would benefit the environment and health of city residents.