The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizen meet the current standard of adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, half of all Corpora's citizen met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizen less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's usually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Medical experts made an irrelevant by citing that only one quarter of the Corpora's citizens meet the standards of physical fitness. There are no fitness standards mentioned by the medical experts by which they can rate the physical fitness of an individual.There are no basis laid for an individual to b physically fit.

Also, the medical experts compare today's fitness with the fitness of the individual 20 years ago. It is true that with the change in living trends over past decades, a vast change has been noticed in the fitness of the person. With the change in eating habits and more inclination towards the contemporary food items, the fitness of an individual is highy effected. But comparing today's fitness standards with the standards defined twenty years ago is obtuse.

Again, the figure of fitness indicated decades ago can no way be compared to current figure as there are many factors which may affect a person's fitness. May be, the citizens in that era had more spare time which they could have utilised for morning or evening walks or gym or yoga. Or the possibilty that the contemporary food items were not introduced in the market. Also, the people would not be so loaded with the work because of which they were relaxed and were able to get enogh sleep whereas now the citizens are overloaded with work, thus, compromising their leisure time to relax which in turn impacts they fitness.There is also a possibility that there were some fitness sessions organized for citizens of Corpora to encourage people to give fitness the priority and no such encouragement is followed now.

The author makes a vague assumption that computers are not the reasons for inadequate fitness of the citizen. There is no clear picture depicted or the standards defined which can state the overall fitness is highest among the citizens of Corpora where computers are highly owned. Owning a computer does not relate his work. There may be many cases where the computer in owned by the citizen but he may not at all using it.

Linking fitness with economy is another tangential cite. People may not buy a fitness product as they may already own it or they may not require it. A person persuing yoga for fitness may not require any expensive fitness related equipments.

It can be the case that there may be some free membership offers ongoing where might have enrolled themselves and thus they need not require to shell for any fitness related products or services.

It may sound true that the economy has declined but the decline of fitness with economy is completely inconsequential. If the fitness if truly implied on the economy then there may be possibility that the economy never rise or it may take

years to rise and waiting for that long will surely impact people's fitness.