The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the newsletter, the author draws an astounding conclusion that states wearing a helmet has negative impact on bicycling safety. Whether or not always wearing a helmet is an important issues that could kill a person and requires carefully consideration. However, close examination shows that the conclusion in the newsletter is fallacious.

Citing the two studies over the past ten years, the author first assumes that a higher percentage of bicyclists have experienced bicycle-related accidents. However, an increased number of bicycle-related accidents does not necessarily indicate such mishaps are more common among bicyclists, because the total number of people who ride bicycle could also have gone up. For example, if there are three times more bicyclists than ten years ago, and the number of bike-related accidents has increased 200 percent, a lower percentage of bicyclists have actually be involved in such incidents.

Even if a higher percentage of bikers have experienced bike-related accidents, there could be other reasons that could have resulted in this growth other than wearing helmets. But the author here assumes wearing helmets is the only cause, supposing it is a cause. For example, with a growth of population, the traffic condition could be more convoluted than that of ten years ago, which might lead to more bicycle-related accidents. Therefore, the author needs to investigate the reasons behind the bicycle-related incidents to ascertain the real reason.

The author then made a gratuitous assumption which claims bicyclists tend to get sloppy because they feel more safety brought about by wearing a helmet. Nonetheless, feeling safe does not necessarily result in being imprudent. For example, some people could be naturally more cautious and will not act boldly even if they feel safe. Likewise, some people may be more innately impetuous. The author would need to survey a reasonable number of bicycle riders to verify his assumption.

Last but not least, basing on the assumption that people take more risks when wearing a helmet, the author asserts that the government should place less emphasis on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets. The unstated assumption here is that wearing helmets is at odds with bicycle safety. However, even if the previous assumption is proven true, it is this bold mentality that leads to accidents, rather than wearing helmets. What the government should do then is to educate people to stay clear of this dangerous mentality. Wearing helmets itself has no problem, people just need to be more careful.

Conclusively, the author made a number of assumptions in the newsletter. Some of them are logically unsound while some of them call for more supporting evidences. Otherwise, it may mislead readers.