The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument draws the conclusion that "There is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety." While this may be true, but in order to evaluate effectively, the given evidence should be analyzed.

The first piece of evidence that might help us to assess the argument is information about the exact numbers of all bicyclists in ten years ago and today. It is possible that the number of bicyclists who wear hamlet decrease from ten years ago; therefore, percent of who wear hamlet increased. For example, ten years ago ratio of who wear hamlet to who not wear hamlet was from 65 to 35 individuals and during ten years the number of who not wear hamlet decrease from 65 individuals to 9 individuals and the number of who wear hamlet remain stable (so 80 percent wear hamlet and 20 percent not wear; While, the exact number of who were hamlet are stable). If we were to learn that the exact number of who wear hamlet to who were not hamlet increased from 10 years ago, it would strengthen the argument.

Secondly, the author states that "the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent." and implies that most of all these 200 percent are who wear hamlet, but perhaps most of them are who not wear the hamlet. For instance, ten years ago we had 3 accidents caused by bicycling who all of them not wear hamlet and after ten years this 3 individuals rise to 9 (who not wear hamlet). If we had evidence that most of the number of accident caused by bicycling are who not wear hamlet, it would weaken the argument.

Finally, this argument draws the conclusion based on two different studies. It is possible that the studies are not objective or not reliable and valid. The argument would have been strengthened if had provided more findings of studies.

In summary, we need extra evidence to thorough understanding of strengths and weaknesses of the argument. We need information about the exact numbers of all bicyclists in ten years ago and today. Also, we require knowing more details about the bicyclist caused the accident during 10 years and we have to know about findings of more studies in this field.