The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that if government will focus more on educating the people about bicycle safety then requiring bicyclists to wear helmets will reduce the number of accidents happening related to bicycle.The evidences cited to support the argument include the information of study report about the percent of bicyclists wearing helmet,another study about number of accidents happening related to bicycle.However,the premises are not strong enough to justify or strengthen the argument.The main reason why the argument are rendered inconclusive are fallacious assumption,problem in the study data and ignorance of other important factors.

Firstly,the argument cities the study data that are inconsistent and weaken the argument.

For instance, there can be less number of bicyclist before ten-years.So may be due to less number of bicyclists there were less accidents happening related to bicycle.Also,the argument fail to give the relationship between two different studies.It may be possible that the because of different data collected by individual studies led to different results.

Secondly,the argument fails to consider the factors that can affect the outcome of the argument in a different way.For instance, it may be possible that the accident happening between a another vehicle and bicycle has been counted in bicycle related accident.Furthermore,the factors and bases on which the study report has been developed cant be derived from the argument.Hence,due to this factors the argument is weak.

Lastly, the argument incorrectly assumes that if government emphasize more on educating people about bicycle safety will led to less number of accidents.Also,argument concludes on basis of study that bicyclist feel safer wearing helmet and hence take more risks that leds to more accidents.It may be possible that accidents happening are because of improper roads build-ed.Hence, the argument is based on faulty assumption.

Hence,the argument conclusion that emphasizing on educating bicyclist rather then wearing helmet is unfounded and weak.the main reasons why the argument seems illogical include the inconsistent study data and incorrect assumptions.However,argument can be strengthen by considering important factor and using more persuasive evidence.