The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor of Balmer Island Gazette the writer makes a recommendation to decrease the amount of moped rentals during the summer in order to reduce the amount of accidents. The writer correlates the amount of moped rentals during the summer directly to the amount of accidents that occur on Balmer Island. On the surface, the connection between the moped accidents and the increase of pedestrians makes sense. However, there are many unknown details that need to be examined carefully before making a decision that could bring an unintended outcome.

In order for the council to evaluate this suggestion wisely, it is important to do more research on the population, the total number of moped accidents, and the disparity in accidents between seasons; the differences between Balmer Island and Seaville; and the decrease of available mopeds’ effect on tourism.

First, there should be more information about the island’s population and moped accidents during winter verses summer days: the amount of mopeds rentals in the winter and in the summer. The letter mentions a goal of 50 percent annual reduction of moped accidents. In order to deem that this goal is effective, we would need more information regarding the net quantity of accidents this percentage presents. By getting all of this information covered, it could contradict the letter’s assumption that the reason for moped and pedestrian accidents over the summer is related to the fact that there are too many mopeds rented. By comparing the different aspects and numbers, one might find out that there is a larger amount of moped accidents over the winter, which will bring a different light on the problem. Finding the cause of the problem will make it easier on the council to come up with the right solution to solve it.

Another potential issue with the letter’s evaluation is comparing Seaville to Balmer Island. It is mentioned that the town council of Seavile Island attained a 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents last year. However, there is no other information comparing the two islands in size, population, tourism, the condition of the roads, and moped rentals. There is no information about the public transportation in each island and the amount of accidents during the winter verses summer time. Comparing the success of Seaville to Balmer Island is like comparing apples to oranges. When comparing Balmer to another island, it should be done by looking at the different angles and aspects of both islands. If research shows that both Islands have similar populations, weather patterns, tourism patterns and number of moped rentals, then the comparison might be valid. However, if there is a discrepancy in any of these measurements, the two islands might require different solutions. For example, should research show a significant difference in road conditions, then the council of Balmer Island should focus on fixing the road structure rather than reducing the moped rentals.

Another factor to take into account is the importance of working wisely and making sure that by cutting down the amount of moped rentals the island is not going to hurt the businesses and the population who might be dependent on the mopeds to travel around. Also, it is important to check the targeted market of tourists who come to the island over the summer. If most tourism is based on young singles who count on the fact that they can rent the mopeds to move around, by blocking this option, it can hurt the business revenues and might create a decrease in the interest of those tourists who visit the island regularly. For example, many young Israeli children like to travel to different islands in Greece before going to the army. Those youngsters, plan on renting scooters in the Island, as it is fun, cheap and convenient. If the island decides to change some of those regulations about the scooters, many of those young Israeli travelers will choose to go somewhere else. If tourists made up a significant percentage of the summer time population on the Island, and reducing the mopeds by 50 percent would decrease the incoming tourist population by such a significant amount, than the evaluation suggested in the letter might be too steep.

In order for the Balmer Island Council to evaluate the editor’s proposal, there must be a study about the island itself to find out more information that might be affecting the accidents overall. Also, when discussing the moped issue on another island, it is important to examine and compare different areas in both islands to make sure that the comparison is not based on misinformation regarding various metrics. There should also be a study about the targeted population coming to the island over the summer. The council needs to be considering the marginal cost and benefit to every additional moped they limit as it may impact the Island’s economic system and inhabitants disproportionally to the reduction of accidents.