The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter written by the author to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette claims that the reduction in moped rentals would lead to reduction in the number of accidents in summer month. This claim may seem logical at first glance but it rests upon some unwarranted assumptions that requires further detailed analysis. These logical fallacies are delineated in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, there is no evidence that increase in population leads to increase in accident rates. It is just a wishy-washy idea that has vague basis. It is highly possible that people move to Balmer islands in summer to rest and relax (Probably it was the holiday season). Thus spending the summer languidly inside homes means that the number of people on roads will be less which severely affects the claim that the population size is directly proportional to accidents.

Second, it is stated in the first line that moped is a 'popular mode of transportation' but nowhere it is claimed that it is the only mode. Thus there might be people owning other vehicles like cars, bikes or even pubic transports like buses can be a reason of accidents to happen. Another flawed reasoning is assuming that the mopeds are mostly rented. It is highly likely that it is self-owned by many of the dweller which contributed to it’s popularity and only a small percent of population may rent it. In that case reducing the number of rentals from 50 to 25 will do little good.

Moreover, the fundamental basis of the argument rests on the results obtained in the neighboring island Seaville which followed similar measures. This statement is rife with holes. While it may be true that Seaville successfully managed to reduce it's accident rates but the accurate data of how many mopeds per day were cut down is not mentioned. 'Similar limits can mean a 50% reduction from 500 to 250 which is a huge number. Also, the differences in the two islands should be taken into account. For instance,the population size of Seaville might be less hence making the roads less congestant.

They might have more stringent traffic rules compared to Balmer Island and citizens might be more disciplined in following them hence reducing the possibilities of accidents. The road conditions might be better in Seaville or they might have many options for alternate modes of transportations which may not be available in Balmer islands thus the population invariably relies on one and hence increasing the chances on accidents. We simply do not know the actual reason for the reduction in accident rates in Seaville thus conclusions cannot be made.

In summary, the author's argument is not entirely invalid but more quantitative data on the number of mopeds reduced in Seaville and an exhaustive evidence eliminating all the other reasons responsible for the decreased accident rates should be provided. Also, the actual number of people relying on moped and the number of people actually using the road transportation in summer months, the accident records are needed to bolster the author's claim.