The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument is flawed for many reasons. Primarily there is failure to establish that there is any relationship between the decrease in business and the increase in popularity of skateboarding.

Even though there is a negative correlation between the decrease in the number of shoppers in the Plaza with the increase in the popularity of skateboarding, there is no proof of a direct relationship.The observed decrease in shoppers could be due to a variety of other factors. Economic hardship, for example, could cause a hinder the ability for shoppers to spend money at the Plaza. This would cause a reduction in business despite whether there is an increase or decrease it the popularity of skateboarding. If there were complains against the Plaza about the presence of skateboarders, it would provide proof that skateboarders to blame for the decrease in business.

Decrease is business could very possibly be due to an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism. But to associate this increase to the presence of skateboarding is without merit. If there were any evidence --- maybe security camera footage --- that revealed skateboarders vandalizing or littering within the Plaza, then there would be a valid argument. Provided that there is no proof, it cannot be assumed that the skateboarding community can be blamed for defacement of Plaza property.

Finally, the Central Plaza store owner states that if skateboarding is prohibited here, it is predicted that business in Central Plaza will return to its previous high level. Even if the skateboarders are to blame for the decrease in business, the prohibition of skateboarding would not necessarily increase business to the Plaza. If the vandalism and litter is not properly address, it would still remain. There needs to be proper plans and effort to restore the Plaza of any damages done. The Central Plaza’s prohibition on skateboarding also need to be properly reinforced to prevent the return of skateboarders.

The Plaza store owner’s failure to establish a relationship between an increase in skateboarders and decrease business makes the argument weak.