The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that inhibiting the skateboarding in the Central Plaza will restore it to its previous levels as the skateboarding is crucial reason for decrease in business in the Plaza. However, this claim is rife with flaws as author has not provided any evidence relating the decline in business and stakeholders. Also, there can be other reasons as well that undermines the reason given by author for falling business in the plaza. Without carefully analysing different questions, it would not be cogent to reach a concrete solution.

First, the author stated no reason that why the skateboard users are key reasons for business loss that Central Plaza is incurring ? Increase in stakeholder users cannot be related to the Central plaza, unless proper evidence are provided. In case, author provides some evidence or cases like skateboard users are actually causing trouble to people and they cannot freely move in the plaza, hence, they stopped coming or an incident like in which a skateboard users accidently hit someone. If, such cases or incidents author would have mentioned, then it create a ground for actually thinking about banning skateboard users inside the plaza. However, since, author didn't provided any such incidents, so, reaching to a conclusion that preventing skateboard users would resume the normal functioning of Plaza is not correct.

Also, author has mentioned that there is proliferation in the vandalism or littering cases throughout the plaza. It might be possible that vandalism has intimidated people and thus they stopped coming or littering has made plaza more like a fetid pool of water. Thus, people on seeing no cleanliness stopped coming. So, unless these two factors are not taken care of and proactive measures are taken for them, it wouldn't be prudent to say that skateboarding is the prime cause.

Furthermore, the author has mentioned that this trend of downfall of business in plaza is seen from past two years. It is very likely that in past two years something might have changed that has cause plaza sales to be down. For example, may be a construction work is going on outside the plaza, making it difficult for people to come there or maybe a new factory has set up in the nearby region that is releasing a very pungent smell; making difficult for the people in nearby region to stay for too long.

Also, maybe a change in the authority maintaining the plaza might have taken place, who pay less attention to cleanliness inside the plaza inside because of which people are reluctant to go inside the plaza itself, hence, leading to business loss in plaza. Without answering all these questions, it's not wise to reach to any point.

To sum up, author cannot conclude that skateboarding is real cause for business loss in Central Plaza; the claim needs to be backed by proper evidence. Also, there are numerous reasons as listed, which can have deleterious effects on the business. Unless, we carefully and meticulously analyze all these questions, it's not wise to reach to any conclusion.