The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation claims that owner of central plaza should prohibit the skateboarding .To support the recommendation,the letter provides a mere relationship.On several grounds,this evidence provides little credible support to recommendation.

To begin with,relation between decrease in number of shoppers and increase in populality of skateboards is baseless.Yet the correlation alone amount to scant evidence of the claimed cause and effect relationship.Perhaps there may be some other additional parameters which lead to decrease in number of shoppers.It could be just a mere coincidence of increase in popularity of skateboards.Only assuming one parameter and prohibiting skateboarding is only amount to flounder.To strengthen the decision of prohibition i need to know various other possibilities factor which abate the shoppers,so that one can rule out the possibilty and find the actual reason.

The letter relies on yet another unsubstantiated assumptions:that amount of litter and vandalism inside plaza are due to skateboard people,Yet there is no evidence produce which explains the same.It might be possible that perhaps litter and vandalism is done by the shoppers of central plaza and this could be one reason of decline in the people visiting shoppers.To bolster the recommendation,additional evidence should be provided which includes the reason behind the littering and vandalism.

A final problem with the recommendation involves the point that prohibiting skateboarding alone can rise the central plaza buissiness.However the assumptions are groundless.The evidence shows that prohibition is only the necessary option available for burgeoning buissness the central plaza.Perhaps there may be some other program or parameter which could increase people coming to central plaza.Infact, the desired improvement could be achieved if central plaza start using some skateboard activities and related accessories,which may attract skateboards people.Without considering and ruling out other alternatives,central plaza store owner cannot confidently draw a conclusion of prohibition.To strengthen the argument,the store owner must provide clear evidence that prohibition is both a necessary and sufficient means of achieving the desired level of profits to central plaza.

In conclusion, the recommendation is unconvincing.To strenghten the prohibition,owner must provide substantial evidence which includes all parameters which leads to increase as well as decrease of desired result.