The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owners of Central Plaza, believe and predict that, prohibiting skateboarding in the Plaza would revert their businesses to it's previously high levels. But, this argument is not complete enough to have the predicted result. Hence, the recommendation should be delineated to strengthen it's prediction.

Firstly, the store owners cannot relate the steadily decreasing shoppers with the increasing popularity of skateboarding. The decrease in costumers can be due to many other reasons like, the cost of the products sold in the Central Plaza have tremendously increased and that the shoppers cannot afford to buy those anymore, or, people who used to buy there on a regular basis have moved to another place, or the shoppers found another place, where the commodities were cheaper. Thus, stating that the cost of the products have remained the same or have decreased during the two years, will strengthen the argument.

Secondly, assuming that the reduction in the number of shoppers in the Central Plaza, is attributed to the increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the Plaza, this litter and vandalism, cannot be related to the skateboarders. Therefore, explicitly mentioning that its the people who use the plaza for skateboarding, the ones who litter all around the plaza, would certainly strengthen the argument.

There is also another possibility that the people who used to purchace goods are now willing to spend it on skateboarding. Thus, adding these missing points to the recommendation, making it self-explanatory, is likely to strengthen the Central Plaza store owners' recommendation.