The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

All the content of this letter was full of weak arguments and assumptions. The author is advocating the belief of some shop owners of plaza that their business is decreased due to skateboarders and will replenish when the skateboarders will be prohibited.

The author is suggesting that the plaza has become more littered and vandalized, it may be true but he is making the assumption that it is dur to skateboarders, it may be because of other visitors who do not use skateboards. Moreover, if there is problem like this, then it means the management and secruity of the plaza is not doing their job diligently.

Author also assumes that the decrease in the shops of plaza is because of the popularity of skateboarding. It may also be true that the shops were not been able to keep up with the demands of the customer and were not making any profits. Also, the owners who believe that skateboarders are responsible for their fate may hold some personal grudge against them.

To be brief the premises put forward by the author are based on assumptions and have many loopholes. Prohibition of anybody is a strong action, which cannot be backed by such weak arguments and assumptions, solid proof is required to implement such recommendation.