The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The rise in popularity of skateboarding and decrease in number of shoppers in Central plaza is a topic of wide interest in recent times. There are those who assert that skateboarding increase has influenced people's desire to shop. There are also those who dispute that skateboarding has given rise to vandalism and littering and those who affirm it. There exist those who ineffectively argue that skateboarders are responsible for reducing the business of store owners in Central plaza. Based on these premises, the author has concluded that prohibiting the skateboarders will be result in the drastic rise of business in Central plaza. Although the author's claim may well have merits, he has devised a poorly reasoned argument that is built upon several questionable premises that falls apart under high level of scrutiny. Based solely on the evidences at hand, the author's conclusion cannot be supported.

Primarily, the concern with author's reasoning is his baseless assumptions. The author has stated that when the number of skateboarders increased, the number of shoppers decreased. But the author fails to explain the tangible correlation between the increase of skateboarders and decrease of shoppers. Is skateboarding the only sole reason for decrease of shoppers? The author fails to consider various external factors that might have existed like inflation in prices, the quality of supply goods, the mind set of shoppers. The author undermines his argument by failing to expand the link between skateboarders and shoppers that he presumes to exist.

In addition to relying on unfounded hypotheses, the author camouflages his lack of irrefutable evidences by equivocating throughout his argument. The author claims that many shop owners have stated that the skateboarders were responsible for decrease in number of shoppers. But does this opinion reflects the opinions of all the shop owners of Central plaza? Has the author done any survey to support his claim. The author's use of unambiguous language like "predict" guarantees that scope and validity of the argument is obscure.

Furthermore, the author derives several baseless inferences that weakens the argument. The author has mentioned about the increase in vandalism and amount of litter throughout the plaza when the number of skateboarders increased. But he fails to provide a satisfactory correlation that indicates skateboarders are the guilty party. The author's premise over which the argument rests proves to be devoid of legitimate evidentiary support and thus rendering the argument a fallacy.

Ultimately, notwithstanding the dubious argument and logical fallacies, the author's claim may well have merit. If the author wants to strengthen his claim then he has to completely restructure his argument by conducting extensive research to collect irrefutable evidences, statistics that strengthens his issue. If the author fails to provides satisfactory evidence, his viewpoint will be negated.