The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The owner has mentioned a problem regarding the business events occurring in recent times in and around the plaza. The observations made are his view regarding the situation and does not post any factual information regarding the same. Overall the context does not post a rigid base relating the claims he has done.

Initially, the observation is that the shoppers have reduced along with an increase in the number of skateboarders. This claim has no facts and figures supporting it. It is not derived from an actual survey being conducted among the shop owners. Also, the owner is being histrionic by using ‘dramatically’ at the end of his statement. This feeling of his may have aroused due to his personal disliking about the sport. Providing a number instead of using ‘many shop owners’ would have created a detrimental effect. The decrease in sales may be due to different reasons like economic instability in the region, emerging of a new market neighbouring Central Plaza, etc. Occurring of the two events may just be a co-incidence and has nothing relating it.

Next is the problem of littering and vandalism in the Central Plaza. Skateboarding is a fun sport and there is no evidence provided for the problem arising due to it. Vandalism may be even related to increasing of criminal activity in the region. It is a law and order issue within the city and skateboarding cannot be blamed completely for this. Thus banning the sport is not a thoughtful decision taken by the authorities and may not necessarily increase the sales of shop owners.

A proper evaluation of the situation is required by the authorities of Central Plaza rather than just putting on the charges on the sport and upsetting the citizens to pursue the sport of their will.