The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter avers that skateboard users in Central Plaza are causing the significant decrease in the number of shoppers and the increasing of litter and vandalism in the plaza. While it may be true that the plaza should ban skateboarding at first sight, a closer review of the letter sheds light on a plethora of unanswered questions, which undermine the recommendation.

To begin with, the author attributes the reduce in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza to the growing popularity of skatebording. There is no evidence, however, to prove the causal relationship between the two. Many other factors can also contribute to the decline of shoppers. For example, may be the overall prices of products in Central Plaza has rised so much that many customers are no longer visiting the stores. Before these and many other questions alike are answered, it would be too reckless for the author to claim that skateboard users affect the business in Central Plaza.

Additionally, another point in the letter that need to be viewed with caution is that the city ought to ban skateboarding in Central Plaza due to the amount of litter and vandalism in Central Plaza. Again, this accusation is ungrounded, for it does not provide evidence showing that the damages are really caused by skateboard users. To answer this question, the store owners need to closely study the behavior of skateboard users in the plaza, in case that it is other people that has caused the litter and vandalism in the plaza.

Last but not least, while the city ought to come up with a solution to improve the business in Central Plaza, it does not necessary mean that skateboarding should be prohibited. Even though it is skateboarding users that are causing the current problem, there are still other policies that could serve as a solution. It is likely that skateboard users bring their friends to the stores, which could benefit the business. May be skateboarding can be part of culture in Central Plaza under proper guidance, attracting many other customers to the plaza. In order to come up with a good solution, store owners need to know the habit and needs of skateboard users, as well as preferences of other customers.

In sum, as the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has witnessed a dramatic drop, it is imperative for the city to save the business. Nonetheless, it is not advisable to blame the growing skateboard users in the plaza for the suffer in business. Prior to making any decision, the city and store owners in the plaza are expected to consider all the relevant questions, instead of making unlogical conclusions based on obstentious phenomena.